Breaking Down a Miracle on Ice Movie: Looking for Lake Placid

After bidding a sad adieu to Les Auge (whose humorous presence will be missed in this film), the action moves to the team bus traveling down a mostly deserted, dark highway at night. The camera pans in on Coach Patrick and Herb snoozing in the front row, and it’s good to see Herb doing something as normal and non-confrontational as sleeping. Perhaps it will lower his blood pressure.

As the bus moves along, Pav’s guitar strums the tune to Simon and Garfunkel’s classic tune about the New Jersey turnpike and its endless bumper-to-bumper traffic jams, and he sings us “America” in a melancholic voice:

Once Pav finishes his singing, Jim notes to Rizzo, who is sitting next to him, “I’m just looking for one small town in America, Lake Placid.” That must have been harder to do before the days of Google Maps, so that’s quite a quest.

Rizzo responds playfully, “Lake Placid? I’ve never heard of it. Don’t worry, Jimmy. If it’s got less than ten thousand people, Brooks has got it on the schedule.”

The guy behind Jim whose face I can’t read well in the dark bus (so I don’t know who he is, basically), comments, “I personally don’t think the place exists. Probably just Brooks’ way of getting a hockey team together.” I think he should adjust his tin foil hat because the conspiracy theory reception isn’t too good, but he’d probably just assure me:

The person behind Rizzo puts in, “You know what I think? We all died and went to hockey players’ hell.” Nah, hockey players’ hell wasn’t invented until John Tortorella (who really should have an award for the biggest coaching meltdown given in his honor, or, really, disgrace each year) began his NHL coaching career. For proof of what I mean, check out this charming video of Tortorella roasting his players alive:

Remember that’s what Tortorella does in front of rolling cameras. He’s probably even more of a Grade A jerk in private, but moving along from Tortorella’s Broadway productions because he’s now been fired by two different NHL franchises in two consecutive seasons which makes him not particularly relevant to the hockey world anymore (thank you, hockey gods), let’s get back to our 1980 adventure.

Some teammate from the front of the bus, shouts over his shoulder, “Hey, will you guys shut up? Some civilized people up front want to get some sleep.” Come on, man. A team bus is meant to be loud, so that tells the audience:

At this point, Jim decides to open up and start relating his whole life story to Pav, saying, “You know, when I was a kid, I never slept. Not a lot. Used to get up at four o’clock in the morning to play hockey. My mother would be in the kitchen fixing breakfast. She was healthy then. Anyway, I used to play with the older guys on the pond. My kid brother plays there now. The older guys had cars, so I’d slip downstairs and stay near the heater to keep warm and close to the door so I could hear the horn of the car. It really felt good being the youngest allowed to play.” This is cute, because I know that Jim liked to slip his mother notes in the morning and stuff.

Pav points out, “Except they made you play in net.” Ha. That’s funny because my brother is a goalie, but I’ve always said that the only reason he became one was for the masks. Goalies get to customize their masks, which I suspect is one of those bones the hockey community threw them because otherwise no one would be willing to take that awful job. (If you’re the goalie, you can make thirty saves and still get booed for the one you miss, and also you wear so much protective equipment that if you want to hug a teammate you risk suffocating him; goalie fights are like two men attempting to dance with beach balls glued all over their bodies). Basically, the thing is, if you weren’t a very odd person before you became a goalie, you would be after a few seasons of it, and it shows. Some of those goalie masks look like creations serial killers would make out of their victims (looking at you, Carey Price). Some look like the ultimate foray into geekdom (Kari Lehtonen! Peter Budaj!). I love that every goalie’s psyche is right out there on display. (And, in the case of the one that looks like brains: way to take that literally.) Gives you something to analyze during breaks in the action.

“Nah,” Jim answers. “That was just when I was in high school. They supplied the goalie’s equipment. Besides, my mother figured that goal was the safest place.” That’s odd. I thought Jimmy was pretty much always a goaltender even when he played pond hockey as a kid, because I remember him saying somewhere that he wanted to play but didn’t understand all the rules, so being a goalie was simple since all he had to do was keep the puck out of the net. I’m going to trust my memory more than this film. In short, movie:

Speaking of playing with older guys, Bah remarks, “When I was a freshman I played for Duluth against the ’76 squad. Man, I thought those guys were ten feet tall.”

“Hey, Bah,” Buzz teases, “tell them how you scored the winning goal against us in overtime.” That sounds like a cool moment. Was it as awesome as TJ Oshie’s shootout goal against Russia?

“Yeah, hare-brain,” retorts Bah, “for the four-hundred and seventy-fifth time.” Everyone laughs uproariously, as Bah continues, “Migraine headache number two.”

“What’s number one?” shouts somebody from the front of the bus (and the poor lighting in this scene is driving me nuts, because it makes it even harder to identify characters who all look the same).

Being all sociable for once, Jimmy jokes, “ ‘Where’s Brooks? O’Callahan’s looking for him.’” That’s actually pretty funny, because it gives me a mental image of OC going after Herb like Roy going after Perry in this hilarious gif:

Now I just wish the movie would show Herb and O’Callahan at each other’s throats. That would be better than ten million renditions of Herb giving Rizzo and Jimmy a hard time. Oh, well, we can’t have everything we want in life, so moving along with the film, Rizzo decides to end the fun by warning, “Hey, you guys better take it easy. He’ll hear you. Let’s get some sleep.” Then Rizzo curls up in his chair like a total baby, and the bus rolls along.

Not actually going to sleep, Rizzo tells Jimmy in a quiet voice, “Hey, Jimmy. All that stuff is behind you now. Got to think to the future.” Okay, Rizzo, I realize you were just trying to be sympathetic there, but you sound like a total moron, since that’s not how the stages of grief work. The stages of grief are: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance, and freaking denial and anger again. Okay, I invented the last bit to make a point, but hear me out. Grief is a process. You don’t get over losing your mother the same way you move beyond losing a sock (never a whole pair, of course) in the washing machine unless you are a sociopath.

“Future?” Jim asks. “Actually, I was thinking about my ma. I guess there’s a connection somewhere.” Of course there is. The connection is in Lake Placid, the place where we’re all looking for…

 

2 thoughts on “Breaking Down a Miracle on Ice Movie: Looking for Lake Placid

  1. Haha, honestly, I think this might’ve been my favorite scene in the movie!

    1. Pav playing guitar. That pretty much speaks for itself.
    2. That banter about Lake Placid. Bah and Jack Hughes humming the Twilight Zone theme song makes me chuckle every time, lol.
    3. Jim opening up to Pav! MY BOYS. MY BOOYYYYSSSSS. WOWWWW this completely validates my Jim/Pav friendship headcanon! Amen and god bless, lol. I don’t think I need to tell you how I nearly flailed my computer right off my lap the first time I watched this scene. 🙂
    4. Bah and Buzz talking about the ’76 Olympic team playing UMD. Because I’m a total sucker for mentions of historically correct details!
    5. Silky being a snarky little shit. 🙂 But seriously, his lines here also make me chuckle every time.
    6. The mental image of OC never giving Herb a moment of peace, lol. Wish they’d decided to show some of that instead of the constant “Rizzo and Craig, you suck!” garbage.

    So, I mean, ignore the questionable dialogue that closes it out (and the total lack of lighting) and I think this scene is a total winner!

    • This actually was a pretty good scene except for some questionable dialogue and terrible lighting, and I can see why it’s one of your favorites, especially since it focuses on your babies, Jimmy and Pav. Pav with his guitar is cute, and Jim opening up to Pav is quite sweet and touching. It’s also exciting to see your headcanon friendship between the two of them in action here. I totally understand you failing. I always flail when Mark and Mac exchange glances in Miracle, and that’s what gave me their headcanon friendship in the first place, so I in no way can judge others for flailing over the Miracle boys.

      Bah and Buzz talking about the ’76 team playing at UMD was pretty cool, and it was nice that the scriptwriters could incorporate that historically accurate detail. I do like some of the little details like that that this movie was able to touch on that Miracle didn’t. I kind of wish we could combine the high-quality acting and hockey play and focus on Herb in Miracle with the focus on the boys that exists in this movie. That would be simply the best, since this movie does have some great ideas. Most of them are just executed terribly, which is sad, since you get to thinking how good the film could be if it had decent acting and script.

      Oh, I think I had some trouble identifying it as Silky who spoke, but good on the scriptwriters for getting his snark right. Too bad the lighting crew couldn’t make his face more visible:(

      I do love the mental image of Herb never getting a moment of peace with OC around to be all argumentative. I just am with you in wishing that they’d show at least one instant of that, instead of nine million renditions of Herb bawling out Rizzo and Craig. Ah, well, clearly, I didn’t write the script, because there would be more coherency and more Mark Johnson because he’s only made one appearance so far and that’s unacceptable:(

      On a whole, by the standards of this movie, this scene was quite good. I can see why it’s one of your favorites.

Leave a comment